Kepler’s law of planetary motion

The three laws of Kepler can be stated as follows:

Kepler’s first law (law of orbit):

Every planet revolves around the sun in an elliptical orbit with the sun is situated at one focus of the ellipse.

An ellipse traced out by a planet around the sun. The closest point is P and the farthest point is A, P is called the perihelion and A the aphelion. The semi major axis is half the distance AP.

Kepler’s second law (law of area):

The radius vector drawn from the sun to a planet sweeps out equal areas in equal intervals of time, i.e., the areal velocity of the planet around the sun is constant.

The planet P moves around the sun in an elliptical orbit. The shaded area is the area ΔA swept out in a small interval of time Δt.

Kepler’s third law (law of period):

The square of the time period of revolution of a planet around the sun is directly proportional to the cube of semi major axis of the elliptical orbit of the planet around the sun.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post? Please mention your Email so that we can contact you for better feedback.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here